Washington Statistical Society
        Washington Statistical Society on Meetup   Washington Statistical Society on LinkedIn

Summer 2003


Yun Li wins 2003 Wray Jackson Smith Scholarship

The Section on Government Statistics, together with the Section on Social Statistics, the Washington Statistical Society, the Caucus for Women in Statistics, the Harris-Smith Institutes, Mathematica Policy Research, and Synectics for Management Decisions, Inc., is delighted to announce that this year's recipient of the Wray Jackson Smith Scholarship is Ms. Yun Li of Bowling Green State University. Ms. Li is a student at the Department of Applied Statistics and Operations Research, where she recently completed her Masters Degree. Ms. Li will use the Wray Jackson Smith Scholarship to fund continued public policy research at the Bowling Green State University Center for Policy Analysis and Public Service. Her work was recently presented at the Mid-Continent Regional Science Association annual conference in Cleveland, Ohio.

The Wray Jackson Smith Scholarship is awarded annually to one outstanding applicant in order to further his or her career in government statistics. Last year's winner, Amelia Haviland of Carnegie Mellon University, used the scholarship to attend a short course on non-sampling error and the Joint Statistical Meetings in 2002. This scholarship is a relatively new initiative, and we still need to raise about $5000 for the scholarship to be fully endowed. Individual and organizational donations are gratefully accepted; please contact Jana Asher at asher@stat.cmu.edu for more information on how you can contribute to this worthwhile, tax-deductible cause.

Return to top

Washington Statistical Society Curtis Jacobs Memorial Prize for Outstanding Survey Statistics Project, 2003

On Tuesday, June 3, the Washington Statistical Society (WSS) held the judging of its annual Curtis Jacobs Memorial Prize for Washington, D.C. area high school and middle school participants. The total entries from this year are increased dramatically from the last year. The prize includes a $200 saving bond to the winning team, a plaque to the advisor teacher, and a one-year free American Statistical Association membership to the school. The winner and the teacher are also invited to the WSS annual dinner.

The winner from high school is:
Project Title: Economic Circumstance and Choice of Colleges
By: Ina Hwang
Statistics teacher: Ricki Cohn
School: Walter Johnson High School, Bethesda, Maryland

The winner team from middle school is vacant this year.

The Curtis Jacob Award committee would like to thank the following people who volunteered to judge the entries. Their help are greatly appreciated! They are:

Wendy Rotz, QUEST, Ernst & Young LLP
Sunghee Lee, JPSM, University of Maryland
Amy Luo, Quest, Ernst & Young LLP
William Wong, IRS

Return to top

2003 Science Fair Winners

WSS presented awards to 46 Washington area students at five regional science fairs this spring (District of Columbia, Fairfax County, Montgomery County, Northern Virginia, Prince George's County). Since 1986, WSS has been recognizing students whose projects demonstrate excellence in the application of statistical methods. Since 1996, The Gallup Organization has made an annual donation of $1000 for prizes. This year, a total of $750 was divided among 6 first place winners (prizes ranged between $75 and $150) and the balance will be used to purchase ASA school memberships for the winners' schools. There were 8 second place winners and each received a copy of Statistics: A Guide to the Unknown, by Tanur, et al. All first and second place winners will also receive a one-year subscription to STATS magazine. Others received certificates of honorable mention.

The judging was coordinated by Lee Abramson. Thanks to all WSS members who volunteered as judges. They are: Dwight Brock, Gene Burns, Promod Chandhook, Bill Cleveland, Bob Clickner*, Michael Cohen*, David Des Jardins, Charlotte Gard, Gloria Gridley, Gene Heyman*, Laura Lee Johnson, Tzu-Cheg Kao, Jurate Landwehr, Robert Lott, Lou Mariano, Michael Messner, Steve Miller, John Rogers, Fritz Scheuren, Sid Schwartz, Stuart Scott*, Mike Stoto, Herb Ware, Glenn White*, David Whitford and Lorie Wijntjes.

* Chief Judge

Return to top

Note From The WSS NEWS Editor

Items for publication in the October 2003 WSS NEWS should be submitted no later than August 29, 2003. E-mail items to Michael Feil at michael.feil@usda.gov.

Return to top

Click here to see the WSS Board Listing (pdf)
Return to top