Washington Statistical Society on Meetup   Washington Statistical Society on LinkedIn

2024 Gertrude M. Cox Award

The Gertrude M. Cox Award Committee is seeking nominees for the 2024 Gertrude M. Cox Award.

  • In memory of Dr. Cox (1900-1978), one of the founders of modern statistics, President of the American Statistical Association (1956)
  • In recognition of early- to mid-career statisticians who have made significant contributions to areas of statistics in which Dr. Cox worked
  • Sponsored by the Washington Statistical Society and RTI International

The award was established in 2003 through a joint agreement between the Washington Statistical Society (WSS) and RTI International. The award annually recognizes a statistician in early to mid-career (less than 15 years after terminal degree) who has made significant contributions to one or more of the areas of applied statistics in which Gertrude Cox worked: survey methodology, experimental design, biostatistics, and statistical computing.

The award is in memory of Gertrude M. Cox (1900-1978). In 1945, Dr.Cox became director of the Institute of Statistics of the Consolidated University of North Carolina. In the 1950's, as Head of the Department of Experimental Statistics at North Carolina State College, she played a key role in establishing Mathematical Statistics and Biostatistics Departments at the University of North Carolina. Upon her retirement from North Carolina State University in 1960, Dr. Cox became the first head of Statistical Research Division at the newly founded RTI. She was a founding member of the International Biometric Society (IBS) and in 1949 became the first woman elected into the International Statistical Institute. She served as president of both The American Statistical Association (1956) and the IBS (1968-69). In 1975 she was elected to the National Academy of Sciences.

The award is presented at the WSS Annual Dinner, usually held in June, with the recipient delivering a talk on a topic of general interest to the WSS membership before the dinner.

This award is made possible by funding from RTI International, and the recipient is chosen by a six-person committee - three each from WSS and RTI. This year's committee consists of WSS President Jeff Gonzalez (co-chair), WSS Past President Erin Tanenbaum, and WSS President-Elect Jonathan Auerbach; and Darryl Creel, Phil Kott, and Marcus Berzofsky (co-chair) from RTI.

The award includes a $1,000 honorarium, travel expenses to attend the WSS Annual Dinner, and a commemorative WSS plaque. Past recipients, in chronological order: Sharon Lohr, Alan Zaslavsky, Tom Belin, Vance Berger, Francesca Domenici, Thomas Lumley, Jean Opsomer, Michael Elliott, Nilanjan Chatterjee, Amy Herring, Frauke Kreuter, Jerome Reiter, Jae Kwang Kim, Bhramar Mukherjee, Elizabeth Stuart, David Haziza, Courtney Kennedy, Dipankar Bandyopadhyay, Sherri Rose, Qing Pan, and Rebecca Hubbard.

Please email your nominations to Marcus Berzofsky (berzofsky@rti.org) by 28 February, 2024. The application should consist of the candidate's cv (or link) and a supporting statement from the nominator. Additional supporting statements can be submitted to strengthen the application.

If you have previously nominated a candidate and you wish that nomination to be reconsidered, we request that you resubmit the application.

Marcus Berzofsky
RTI International