News about activities of the Washington Statistical Society
A Chapter of the American Statistical Association

November 2000



WSS Home | Newsletter | WSS Info | Seminars | Courses | Employment | Feedback | Join!

Herriot Award Nominations Sought

Nominations are sought for the 1998 Roger Herriot Award for Innovation in Federal Statistics.

After the sudden death in May 1994 of Roger Herriot, an Associate Commissioner for Statistical Standards and Methodology at the National Center for Education Statistics, the Washington Statistical Society, the Social Statistics and Government Statistics Sections of the American Statistical Association established an award in his memory to recognize individuals who develop unique approaches to the solution of statistical problems in Federal data collection programs.

The award is intended to reflect the special characteristics that marked Roger Herriot's career.

The award is not restricted to senior members of an organization; nor is it to be considered as a culmination of a long period of service. Individuals at all levels, from entry to senior, Federal employees, private sector employees, or employees of the academic community, may be nominated on the basis of the significance of the specific contribution.

The recipient of the 2001 Roger Herriot Award will be chosen by a committee of representatives of the Social Statistics Section and Government Statistics Section of the American Statistical Association and a representative of the Washington Statistical Society. Roger Herriot was associated with and strongly supportive of these organizations during his career. The award consists of an honorarium of $1,000 and a framed citation. Joseph Waksberg (Westat), Monroe Sirken (National Center for Health Statistics), Constance Citro (National Academy of Sciences), Thomas Jabine (SSA, EIA, CNSTAT), and Donald Dillman (Washington State University.

A nomination form can be obtained by contacting Lynda Carlson by phone: (703) 292-7766; fax (703) 528-4585; or email: All nomination forms should be to the Roger Herriot Award Committee c/o Lynda Carlson, 3400 N. Peary Street, Arlington, VA. 22207. Completed nomination forms must be received by May 11, 2001.

Return to top

SGE Conference 2000

The Society of Government Economists (SGE) is pleased to announce that it is hosting a conference on "The 'New Economy': What Has Changed and Challenges for Economic Policy." The conference will be held on November 17, 2000 in Washington, DC. The many sessions in the conference will focus on issues such as the new macro environment, the evolution of markets and the implications for federal regulation, the socioeconomic implications of the new technologies, market efficiency, industry productivity, changing infrastructure needs, globalization, risk sharing between employers and employees, and changes in the demand and supply for human capital. Please visit the SGE Web site for further details and registration information.

Return to top

ASA Session Reprise:
Research on Government Survey Nonresponse

Please join us for a repeat of the ASA standing room only session on nonresponse. The session will be split into two WSS seminars with two papers presented at each session. Part 1 will be October 19 from 12:30-2:00 in the BLS Conference Center, Room 2. Stephanie Smilay of the Census Bureau will present: "Can Reducing the Data Collection Period Increase the Response Rate?" John Dixon of BLS will present: "The Relationship Between Household Moving, Nonresponse, and Unemployment Rate in the Current Population Survey." Part 2 will be November 16 from 12:30-2:00 in the BLS Conference Center, Room 2. Nancy Bates of the Census Bureau will present: "The Last Five Percent: What Can We Learn from Late Interviews?" and Lee Giesbrecht of BTS will present: "A Comparison of Bias Estimates in RDD and Address-Based Samples." The Census Bureau will provide video conferencing for both seminars at 12:30-2:00 in Room 3225/4.

Return to top

Note From The WSS NEWS Editor

Items for publication in the January 2000 WSS NEWS should be submitted no later than November 28, 2000. E-mail items to Michael Feil at

Return to top

WSS People

Cynthia Z.F. Clark (301) 457-2165
Past President
Mary Batcher (202) 327-6740
Andrew White
Tom Mule (301) 457-8322
Jill Montaquila (301) 517-4046

Vice Chair for District 2 of
Council of Chapters

Ron Fecso (703) 306-1780 ext. 6906
Council of Chapters Representative
Carolee Bush (301) 457-3840
Carolyn Shettle (202) 537-6793
Linda Atkinson (202) 694-5046
John Czajka (202) 484-4685
Glenn White (202) 327-6414

WSS Program Chairs
Agriculture & Natural Resources
Anne Peterson (703) 235-5218 ext 113
Art Kennickell (202) 452-2247
Linda Atkinson (202) 694-5046
Methodology Section
Stuart Scott (202) 606-7383

Methodology Program
Ginny de Wolf (202) 395-7314
Public Health and Biostatistics
Paul Hshieh (301) 295-9762
Jai Choi (301) 458-4144
Public Policy
Carolyn Shettle (202) 537-6793
Phil Ross (202) 260-5244
Quality Assurance and Physical Sciences
Amrut Champaneri (202) 690-3130
Michael Feil (202) 690-3137
Short Courses
Robin Lee (202) 327-7575
Social & Demographic Statistics
Roberta Sangster (202) 606-7517
Manual de la Puente (301) 457-4997
Statistical Computing
Bob Jernigan (202) 885-3170
Doug Samuelson (703) 978-5030
Data Collection Methods
Brad Edwards (301) 294-2021
Linda Stinson (202) 606-7528
Jonaki Bose (202) 219-1619

Fotios Kokkotos (202) 822-5592
Michael Feil (301) 443-4234
Electronic Mail
Michael L. Cohen (202) 334-3765
Michael Greene (703) 247-1575
S.V. (Vince) Massimini (703) 883-5893
Renee Miller (202) 426-1117
Antionette Martin 202) 426-1110
Fritz Scheuren (202) 261-5886
Quantitative Literacy
Wendy Rotz (202) 327-7822
Carolyn Carroll (703) 379-4500
Science Fair
Lee Abramson (301) 415-6180
Video Librarian
Mel Kollander (202) 537-6700
Social Arrangements
Jeri Mulrow (202) 327-6772
Local Arrangement
Kevin Cecco (202) 874-0464
WSS Historian
Michael P. Cohen (202) 219-1917
WSS Committee on ASA Fellows
Phil Kott (703) 235-5211 x 102
Jacobs Memorial Committee
Paul Cook (703) 235-5218
Wendy Rotz (202) 327-7822
Shiskin Committee
Howard Hogan (301) 457-2665
Hansen Lecture Committee
Nancy Kirkendall
Wes Schaible
Rich Allen
Bob Groves
Joseph Waksberg
Student Representative
Currently Vacant

Return to top

WSS Home | Newsletter | WSS Info | Seminars | Courses | Employment | Feedback | Join!

First posted October 31, 2000
Last modified October 31, 2000

Webmaster: Dan Jacobs, Maryland Sea Grant