The Jeanne E. Griffith Mentoring Award

The Jeanne E. Griffith Mentoring Award recognizes and encourages the mentoring of junior staff in the statistical community in federal, state, or local government. It is awarded annually to a supervisor, technical director, team coordinator, or other statistical staff member who is nominated by a supervisor or co-workers for his or her efforts in supporting the work and developing the careers of junior staff.

The Jeanne E. Griffith Mentoring Award was established to honor Dr. Griffith, who died in August 2001, after working for more than 25 years in the federal statistical system. Throughout her career, and especially in her latter senior management positions at the National Center for Education Statistics and the National Science Foundation, one of Jeanne's highest priorities was to mentor and encourage younger staff at all levels to learn, to grow, and to recognize and seize career opportunities as they came along.

The award recipient will be selected for his or her efforts in supporting the work and developing the careers of junior staff. Preference will be given to nominees with a track record of mentoring government statisticians. Examples of typical mentoring activities include:

- Advising junior staff to help them create career opportunities, networking skills, and contacts for growth and development;
- Counseling junior staff and providing resources to help develop their technical writing, analysis, presentation, and organizational skills and knowledge;
- Encouraging the growth and career development of junior staff through attendance and oral presentations at meetings with higher level officials, staff of other agencies, professional associations, training courses, and conferences;
- Motivating junior staff and building self-confidence by providing feedback, being a listener when that is needed, and creating a caring and supportive environment;
- Serving as a role model for junior staff through professional expertise, information and insights, balancing collegial and personal roles, and including everyone regardless of rank, race, ethnicity, gender identity, or seniority.

Nominations for the 2025 award are now being accepted. The nomination form and guidelines are available from the Government Statistics Section website (see http://community.amstat.org/governmentstatisticssection/home)

NOMINATIONS ARE DUE BY APRIL 28, 2025, and the Award Committee will determine the award winner by end of June. The award will consist of a \$1,000 honorarium, a citation, and a plaque, which will be presented at a ceremony arranged by the co-sponsors.

The nomination package must be mailed or emailed no later than APRIL 28, 2025, to:

The Jeanne E. Griffith Mentoring Award Committee c/o The American Statistical Association 732 N. Washington Street Alexandria, VA 22314-1943

Email: DonnaL@amstat.org

If you have questions about the award, please contact **Donna LaLonde** at <u>DonnaL@amstat.org</u> or (703) 684-1221, or the chair of the Award Committee: **Raji Sundaram** at <u>sundaramr2@mail.nih.gov</u>.

Previous recipients of the Jeanne E. Griffith Mentoring Award

- 2004 Beth A Kilss (Internal Revenue Service)
- 2005 Renee Miller (Energy Information Administration)
- 2006 Martin O'Connell (U.S. Census Bureau)
- 2007 Stephanie Shipp (National Institute for Standards and Technology)
- 2008 Rosemary Marcuss (Bureau of Economic Analysis)
- 2009 Kevin Cecco (Internal Revenue Service) and Lillian Lin (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)
- 2010 Deborah H. Griffin (U.S. Census Bureau)
- 2011 Jenise L. Swall (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency)
- 2012 William P. Mockovak (Bureau of Labor Statistics)
- 2013 Brian Harris-Kojetin (Office of Management and Budget)
- 2014 J. Gregory Robinson (U.S. Census Bureau) and Kenneth C. Schoendorf (National Center for Health Statistics)
- 2015 Aldo "Skip" Vecchia (U.S. Geological Survey)
- 2016 Diane K. Willimack (U.S. Census Bureau)
- 2017 Cynthia Ogden (National Center for Health Statistics)
- 2018 Howard Hogan (U.S. Census Bureau)
- 2018 Carol Gotway Crawford (U.S. Government Accountability Office)
- 2019 Sharon Boivin (National Center for Education Statistics)
- 2020 Rajeshwari Sundaram (National Institutes of Health)
- 2021 Carol V Caldwell (U.S. Census Bureau)
- 2022 Barry Graubard and Monserrat Garcia-Closas (National Cancer Institute)
- 2023 None Awarded
- 2024 Nancy L. Geller (National Heart, Lung, Blood Institute) and
 - Clarice R. Weinberg (National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences)

Sponsors of the Award

The Government Statistics Section (GSS) of the American Statistical Association manages the award. GSS would like to thank our co-sponsors:

- American Educational Research Association
- American Institutes for Research (AIR)
- Council of Professional Associations on Federal Statistics (COPAFS)
- Interagency Council on Statistical Policy
- Research Triangle Institute (RTI)
- Washington Statistical Society, ASA
- Westat

GSS also thanks the Interagency Council on Statistical Policy for its support and championing of this award.

Please contact Anna Nevius (nevius@comcast.net), if your organization would like to co-sponsor the award.